26 November 2018
A Block, K.R. Mangalam University, Sohna Road, Gurgaon

On the occasion of National Law Day, the School of Legal Studies organized the First Parliamentary Debate Competition on 26th November, 2018. The Competition was inaugurated by Honourable Vice Chancellor Sir Prof. (Dr.) Aditya Malik and Pro-VC Ma’am Dr. Anita Sharma by lighting a lamp to the patriotic tune of Vande Matram. The Debate was organized to bring home through the Law School the vital importance of constitutional morality through rational and disciplined discourse in the key democratic institution--- the Parliament of India---- on a topic that brought traditional and the new India face to face. The attempt was to make legal education a vehicle of imbibing the constitutional spirit of the founding fathers of the Constitution of India and their passion for an India that would care for the vulnerable and the oppressed.

Keeping the above in view, this debate competition was organized to bring forth the very essence of constitutionalism on the occasion of the National Law Day celebration. Participants dressed in the Indian parliamentary styles, debated the highly contested Supreme Court judgment on the entry of reproductive age group women to Sabarimala Temple. The constitutional provisions concerning custom, tradition, religion and the place of women therein came up for focused legal exchange between the two sides. The Honourable Judges, Prof Vijay Anand Dubey, Dean SOMC, Dr. Arti Kaul Kachroo Dean, SOED and AR. Himani Singh Professor, B.Arch, inspired the law students with their understanding and presence, which was highlighted by the two judges representing the students, Pranav Sachdeva and Anuradha of the IX semester. This debate became a successful event due to the kind and limitless support from respected Dean Sir, SOLS, infinite inspiration and assistance from faculty members namely, Dr.Kaveri and Ms.Sulakshana and active participation of all the students of School of Legal Studies. The team spirit of the faculty and the organizing students made the function possible. The function concluded with a vote of thanks to the Vice Chancellor, the Pro-Vice Chancellor, faculty members, students and the staff.

The winners in the Debate, as per the decisions of the judges, are as follows:
1st Prize Abhishek Chowdhury BBALL.B(H) School Legal Studies
2nd Prize Vrinda Dayal LL.B(H) School Legal Studies
3rd Prize Timothy BCOMLLB(H) School of Legal Studies

The event ended with a thoughtful speech and prize distribution along with certificates of appreciation to the winners by Prof Vijay Anand Dubey (Dean of SOMC. The message was effectively communicated that the values of the Constitution must actually be put into practice for creating the resurgent India that our founding fathers envisaged.